FERMA has announced the shortlist for the four Excellence in Risk Management Awards 2017. The winners will be announced at a gala dinner in London on 6 November.

The Excellence in Risk Management Awards are part of the European Risk Management Awards organised by FERMA in partnership with Commercial Risk Europe and launched in 2016.

Risk Manager of the Year

Gökçe Çıtak, Risk and Insurance Coordinator Socar – ERMA (Turkey)

Eberhard Faller, Senior Vice President Central Insurances, BASF – GVNW (Germany)

Martti Ojanen, Group Head of Risk Loomis Energy – SWERMA (Sweden)

Rising Star of the Year

Pedro Rodríguez Díaz, Risk Manager DEOLEO – AGERS (Spain)

Benedikt Hintze, Corporate Finance Manager KWS – GVNW (Germany)

Özge Öz, Risk Manager LC Waikiki – ERMA (Turkey)

Risk Manager Lifetime Achievement

Andrew Bradley, Head of Group Risk Services of Nestlé – SIRM (Switzerland)

Carl Leeman, Chief Risk Officer of Katoen Natie – BELRIM (Belgium)

Reiner Siebert, Managing Director, Albatros Versicherungsdienste and Delvag Versich (Lufthansa Group) – GVNW (Germany)

Innovative Insurance Programme of the Year

Matthias Beck, Manager of Group Risk & Insurance Adolf Würth GmbH & Co. – GVNW (Germany)

Philippe Cotelle, Head of Insurance and Risk Management Airbus – AMRAE (France)


The award judges are a panel of leading risk managers from FERMA member associations.

  • Jana Bicanova, Winner, European Risk Management Awards Risk Manager Lifetime Achievement Award 2016
  • Brigitte Bouquot, President, AMRAE
  • Julia Graham, Technical Director, Airmic
  • Sabrina Hartusch, President, SIRM
  • Tapio Huovinen, President, FinnRima
  • Dr Zhetcho Kalitchin, President, BRIMA
  • Gaëtan Lefèvre, Vice-President, BELRIM
  • Dr Alexander Mahnke, President, GVNW
  • Juan Carlos Lopez Porcel, President, AGERS
  • Annemarie Schouw, President, NARIM


FERMA President Jo Willaert said:

“We were delighted with the success of the 2016 Excellence in European Risk Management awards and the widespread recognition the winners have received, including within their own enterprises. We have encouraged our member associations and their members, as well as our colleagues in the wider risk management community, to become involved this year. The result is an outstanding list of shortlisted candidates.”

Read more about the event practical information