The Federation of European Risk Management Associations (FERMA) has elected as board members Gilbert Canameras, immediate past president of the French risk management association AMRAE, and Dirk Wegener, Global Head Corporate Insurance for Deutsche Bank, a board member of the German association bfv and a member of the German association DVS.

Three directors were re-elected following expiry of their previous three year mandates: Jo Willaert (BELRIM), Michel Dennery (AMRAE); and Isabel Martinez (AGERS).

Gilbert Canameras

Gilbert Canameras is Group Risk and Insurance Chief Office and Vice President Finance for Eramet Group. In April 2015, he was appointed special advisor to the group on insurance matters. Gilbert began his career with French media companies and in medical research. From 1980, he worked in a number of industry sectors in finance and risk functions. Gilbert joined Eramet in 2002 to ensure implementation of the corporate functions of treasury, funding, insurance and risk management. He was President of AMRAE from 2011 to May 2015.

Dirk Wegener

Dirk Wegener started his career as an underwriter with Gerling before moving to the automotive group Daimler to manage the group’s insurance services and head the supervisory board of its captive. In 2012, he moved to Deutsche Bank where he is Global Head of Corporate Insurance and chairman of the supervisory board of its captive.


Following the voting, FERMA President Julia Graham paid further tribute to Board member and Secretary General Edwin Meyer.

She went on to mention two long serving officers who have now retired: former Secretary General Pierre Sonigo and Treasurer Fernand De Winter. She said “We thank Pierre for his wisdom and guidance over the years. He has helped the board and the FERMA team headed by Florence Bindelle to where it is today. Fernand has done the important job of ensuring that our finances are properly managed. He has allowed us to define what we need for the future and build on that legacy.”

Julia also thanked Vice President and board member Alessandro De Felice, who did not seek a new mandate. She said: “Alessandro has accepted the honour of chairing ANRA, the Italian risk managers’ association and member of FERMA. He wishes to dedicate his time to ANRA activities, including their significant role in the Venice FERMA Forum in October”.

At the FERMA Board meeting on 25 June, following the General Assembly, Jo Willaert was elected as FERMA President with effect from the close of the FERMA Venice Forum 7 October 2015.

The full board of FERMA is now:
Julia Graham (President – Airmic); Jo Willaert (Deputy President – BELRIM); Michel Dennery (Vice President – AMRAE); Gilbert Canameras (AMRAE); Anders Esbjörnsson (SWERMA); Helle Friberg (DARIM); Anna Korbut (RusRisk); Carl Leeman (BELRIM); Jorge Luzzi (ANRA); Cristina Martinez (IGREA); Isabel Martinez (AGERS) and Dirk Wegener (BfV/DVS).

Press contacts

Florence Bindelle, FERMA Executive Director at or at +32 (2) 761 94 31

Lee Coppack, FERMA media coordinator, at

+44 208 318 0330/ +44 7843 089904.