The general assembly of the Federation of European Risk Management Associations (FERMA) has elected four directors to join the board for 2014-2017 and one new substitute.

Anna Korbut from the Russian risk management association RusRisk has joined the board for the first time. Three serving board members have been re-elected following the end of their previous terms. They are Helle Friberg from the Danish association DARIM; Carl Leeman of the Belgian association BELRIM and Cristina Martinez from the Spanish association IGREA. The board substitute is the president of Poland’s POLRISK, Slawomir Pijanowski.


Anna Korbut is Executive Risk Manager for NefteTransService, a railway cargo operator. She has a background in history and political social studies, economics and management. For her MBA, she wrote a thesis on key aspects of enterprise risk management (ERM) strategy and practice for companies. She is Vice President of RusRisk.

Anna Korbut

Anna Korbut

Anna said: “This is a great honour for me and for RusRisk. I believe it will enhance the activity of RusRisk in developing risk management in Russia. We are working on certification for risk managers and developing a programme for young risk managers, and this will give us momentum for the future. There is growing interest in risk management in Russia in both the public and private sectors.”

Helle Friberg is Group Risk and Insurance Manager for the Danish coatings company HEMPEL A/S, where she is a member of the holding company board as a staff representative. Within FERMA, she is head of the programme committee for the 2014 FERMA Seminar and active in the diversity project. Helle was responsible for the creation of a guide to risk and insurance acronyms for the FERMA website.

Carl Leeman is Chief Risk Officer of the Belgian-based company Katoen Natie, a privately owned logistic and engineering supplier to industries in 26 countries. He is Vice President of BELRIM and President of the International Federation of Risk and Insurance Management Associations (IFRIMA). Carl leads FERMA’s work on environmental liability.

Cristina Martinez is Director of Corporate Risk Management for Spain’s Campofrio Food Group Holding. Cristina is chair of the working group responsible for the FERMA 2014 Benchmarking Survey. She has an actuarial background and is currently working on her PhD.

Slawomir Pijanowski, POLRISK President

Slawomir Pijanowski

Sławomir Pijanowski is Corporate Risk Manager of the Postal Mutual Insurance Company, the captive of Polish Post Group, Poland’s largest postal industry business. As president of POLRISK, he is responsible for the coordination of conferences and development of good risk management practices in the Polish market. He holds a PhD from the Poznań University of Economics, Department of Investment and Capital Markets.

FERMA’s Board of Directors is composed of Julia Graham (President), Michel Dennery (Vice-President), Alessandro De Felice (Vice-President), Johan Willaert (Vice-President), Anders Esbjornsson, Helle Friberg, Anna Korbut, Carl Leeman, Jorge Luzzi, Cristina Martinez Garcia, Isabel Martinez Torre-Enciso, and Edwin Meyer.



Save the date: FERMA Seminar and announcement of Benchmarking Survey results, 20-21 October 2014, Square, Brussels

For further information:

From 30 June to 3 July:

Christel Jaumoulle, FERMA project assistant and +32 (2) 761 94 32

From 7 July:

Lee Coppack, FERMA media coordinator and +44 208 318 0330/+44 7843 089904

Journalists are welcome to attend the FERMA Seminar. More information and registration: