FERMA and Commercial Risk Europe have announced the winners of the 2020 Excellence in Risk Management Awards. The awards were presented at a virtual ceremony on Friday 11 December.

winners of european risk management awards 2020This year, there are separate awards for the risk manager of the year in the corporate and public sectors and new categories for collaboration and a training and education programme. In addition, there are two exceptional awards: the COVID-19 Risk Manager award and a special jury award to an outstanding individual risk manager.

The President of FERMA Dirk Wegener said: “The annual European Risk Management Awards recognise the talents and skills of individuals while raising the profile of the risk management profession. We congratulate the winners and the candidates for outstanding work, especially in the challenging circumstances of this year, and we commend our partners in the insurance industry who are also winners of 2020 European Risk Management Awards.” 

Awards Ceremony 2020 – the winners

Excellence in Risk Management

Athina Pehrman

Covid-19 Outbreak Special Award – This special award was made by a vote of the risk management community: Athina Pehrman, Group Risk Manager, Electrolux Professional Group



François Malan


Private Sector Risk Manager of the Year: François Malan, Chief Risk & Compliance Officer, Eiffage




Lene Ritz ferma board member


Public Sector Risk Manager of the Year: Lene Ritz, Chief Risk Officer and Team Lead, Energinet



Pauline Davoust


Innovative Insurance Programme of the Year: Pauline Davoust, Global Head Insurance & Risk Management, Gate Gourmet


Gerold Knight


Emerging Risk Initiative of the Year: Gerold Knight, Group CRO, Coca-Cola HBC A




winner collaboration of the year award 2020

Collaboration of the Year: Pim Moerman, Director Insurance and Risk Engineering and Rob van den Eijnden, Global Business Continuity and Resilience Leader, Royal Philips



Rohini de waard


Rising Star of the Year: Rohini de Waard, Insurance Manager, Royal Vopak N.V.




Excellence in Training and Education

Risk Training and Education Initiative of the Year: ANRA Learning Path (ALP) – Rimap accredited course

Special Award – Outstanding Contribution to Risk Management:

Carl Leeman, Chief Risk Officer, Katoen Natie

European Risk Management Awards Industry Winners: 

  • Insurer Innovation of the Year: AXA XL – Parametric Solution
  • Broker Innovation of the Year: Marsh – Cyber Platform
  • Emerging Risk Solution of the Year: Beazley – Cyber Defence for Marine
  • Global Programme Innovation of the Year: Swiss Re Corporate Solutions – ONE FORM Property Policy Wording
  • Technology Innovation of the Year: Ventiv Technology & Takeda [Joint Entry] – Clinical Trial Certificates
  • Claims Innovation of the Year: Crawford & Company – Claims Fabric Process

Missed the ceremony? Watch it again below.