Three new members have been elected to serve on the FERMA board until June 2014:

Arnout van der Veer From the Dutch association NARIM
Helle Friberg Vice-president of the Danish association DARIM
Igor Mikhaylov From the Russian association RUSRISK



Mikhaylov and van der Veer received the European risk manager of the year award from Strategic Risk in 2011 and 2010 respectively. Helle Friberg is a member of the planning committee for the 2011 FERMA Risk Management Forum, the first to take place in a Nordic country.

Cristina Martínez of IGREA and Carl Leeman, BELRIM, were re-elected to the FERMA board for a further three years.

The President of FERMA, Peter den Dekker, said: “The election of Igor Mikhaylov from RUSRISK shows that FERMA represents the risk managers of a very large part of the European business community. I am looking forward to working with the new team.”

He paid tribute to the valuable contribution of two long-serving members who stood down from the board: Marie-Gemma Dequae of the Belgian association BELRIM and Paul Taylor of the UK association AIRMIC. Dequae served for four years as den Dekker’s immediate predecessor as president of FERMA, and Paul Taylor is this year’s president of Airmic.

FERMA will choose a new president to succeed Den Dekker in September. He will have completed his two year term at the end of the FERMA Forum in October, when his successor will take office.